Starting Over*

In my last substantive post, I told you all that I finished up my second round of Max:30 at the beginning of May but that I didn’t really see any changes at all because of my diet.  And I also told you that I’ve been sort of just bouncing around in terms of my exercise plan.  I did that for basically the whole last month–working out when, and if, I wanted, doing whatever workout I felt like doing (usually something easy because I was just generally feeling lazy).  And if I was lax on my diet DURING IM:30, you should have seen how I’ve been eating the last month!  Sweets all the time! Iced coffee with condensed milk!  Burgers and fries!  You name it, I’ve probably eaten it in the past 30 days.  And all of that meant that I gained a few pounds back and just generally felt sluggish from my poor food choices.  And while I hadn’t gained a ton of weight back, I definitely felt more squishy than usual, and I didn’t like it one bit.  squishy

So I needed a plan to get my ass back on track, and it would have to involve some new food choices in a big way.  And because my husband ran his marathon in San Diego last weekend (taking an additional 15 minutes off his previous marathon PR), he was now free to start a plan with me.

We sat down last Thursday night to write out what we thought our plan should be.  We both decided that following the Max 30 nutrition guide exactly was far too restrictive and it really made us feel like we were in prison, so we wanted to use it as a guideline, but write in some specific cheats that would allow us to follow that 85/15 plan that we feel like we can live with.  And we wanted to write it down b/c we both knew that when we don’t, it is all too easy for us to start justifying little treats here and there.  So here’s what I came up with:

-I would still strive for my 4 units of protein a day–I have no idea how many grams of protein this is, but this is from the Max 30 guide.  Basically I need to have 4 good servings of protein a day.

-I will watch my carbs, but will allow myself more than just the 2 servings per day allowed on IM:30.  I will always keep my number of carb servings (and we’re talking pure carbs here like bread or pasta…not carbs like fruit or beans or stuff like that) below my number of protein servings for the day.

-I can eat out for lunch once a week.  Now, I have certain mandatory work lunches that I have to attend each week where they order in food for us.  Those don’t count, b/c I’m not CHOOSING to eat those.  So I just order a salad or turkey sandwich or something healthy during those and still get my one lunch out.

-We can eat one restaurant meal as a family each week.  Restaurant dining is where we tend to really overeat, so limiting that to only once a week will not only save our waistlines, but also our wallets.

-We can only drink alcohol at that one meal out…so no alcohol consumption at home (unless we choose to refrain from a drink at the one meal out and choose instead to drink at home).

-One “treat” per week–this can be ice cream, cookies, brownies, frappucinos, iced coffee, etc.  But only ONCE per week.  If I choose to order dessert at one of my meals out, that counts as the treat.

-Back to meal planning/prepping each week.  We all know this makes a HUGE difference.

-Back to real, whole foods…stop defaulting to frozen, processed crap (which we shouldn’t do as long as we’re planning each week).

So that’s our plan.  And we also re-started the IM:30 workouts this morning.  We took measurements yesterday, but I forgot to take any pictures, so I’ll have to take those sometime this week and post them.  So we’re basically starting from scratch again and I’m really excited to put in the work and see some results this time.

But y’all knew that I couldn’t just play it cool this weekend if I was going to be starting a diet today, right?  Here’s just a sampling of some things that I had this weekend: Awesome drinks from the bar at Decca, Chocolate Peanut butter tart with pretzel crust from Ward 426, banana split donut from Hi Five Donuts, a Gonzo ice cream sandwich (funfetti cookies with pistachio ice cream) from Tasty Tuxedo, and a homemade creamsicle float.  Let’s just say I wanted to make sure I started out with a nice high starting weight so I could see a big improvement 🙂

donutsammie

So, here’s to starting over this morning and hopefully seeing some changes!  I will post my starting stats once I remember to take the pictures!

*does anyone else remember that tv show called “Starting Over”?  I know it was on when I was in law school (so sometime between 2002-2005) and it was all about these women who wanted to “start over” with their lives and they all moved into this house where they got all sorts of therapy and life lessons.  So, this will be sort of like that…but not really.

One thought on “Starting Over*

  1. Pingback: Insanity Max: 30–Week 1 update plus stats & pics. | Pura Vida Girls

Leave a Reply

