Insanity Max: 30–Week 1 update plus stats & pics.

Ok, so I survived my first week of re-committing to eating healthy while doing the IM:30 workouts.  And it was SO much easier this time.  I fully expected to be completely miserable like I was in the first month, but I didn’t feel that way at all.  Now, that’s probably because I am not following the IM:30 nutrition guide exactly, but instead am following the guidelines that I outlined in my Starting Over post.  But, I managed to follow *most* of the rules for the week and I felt pretty good.  So, here’s how I did on each of the rules:

-Get my 4 servings of protein each day–I faltered a bit with this one.  We made a big batch of pumpkin oatmeal for breakfast for the week, which meant that I was having a big carb-y breakfast, but no protein.  I’ve found that if I don’t get one serving of protein for breakfast, it’s hard for me to catch up to it each day.  I did get at least 3 servings each day though.

-I watched my carbs and only had more servings of carbs than proteins on one day, which I’ll tell you about in a second.

-One lunch out each week–I had Chick-Fil-A* for lunch on Thursday and it was glorious 🙂

-One restaurant meal as a family–this was a bit weird this week because on Tuesday morning I woke up and decided we were going to make the hour drive north to Holiday World to enjoy a day of roller coasters and water slides.  This was totally unplanned, and sort of threw a curveball right into the beginning of our week.  So, that meant that we basically used our cheat meal up on Tuesday instead of our usual weekend cheat.  This is the one day that my carbs exceeded my protein, but I ate WAY less than what I would usually eat on a day like this.  I had chicken tenders and fries for lunch, an awesome waffle cone for a treat, and then I shared a pretzel with cheese for a snack later.

cone

 

(yes, I know I have ice cream on my nose…well, I know NOW…I didn’t know when the picture was taken.  Thanks, husband.)

I have to admit that since it was only Tuesday, I fully expected us to make an exception to the rules and have another restaurant cheat on the weekend, but we didn’t!

-No alcohol for the week.

-My one “treat” for the week was that ice cream cone.  And it was well worth it.

-Meal planning and prepping was a success, as was our goal to get back to eating whole foods.

So, all in all, I’d say that was a success.

So here are my “starting over” stats and pics:

Weight-132lbs
Waist-29″
Stomach-33″
Hips-38″
Thighs-23″ each
Chest (no bra this time to remove any error for different bras, etc.)-over biggest part of boobs–35.5″, under boobs–29.75″
Triceps (flexed with arm straight down)-11″
Calves-14.5″ each

And here are my pics–these were actually taken yesterday (6/14), but they’ll have to serve as my starting pics since I forgot to ever take pics before starting.

front 3rd

side3rd

 

This picture cracks me up because I was in the middle of saying something, so I look totally derpy.

And I wanted to do some flexing pics to see how/if my muscles change this time.

frontflex

backflexSo, there you have it.  Let’s see where I end up in 7 more weeks!!  Oh, and I got a new FitBit this weekend, so I will be doing a review post on that soon to share my thoughts on it.

*While this is by no means a political blog, I just want to make it clear that I don’t agree with Chick-Fil-A’s political beliefs (particularly their stance on gay marriage)…but I love their food.  I justify eating it by saying that Chick-Fil-A has made it very clear that they have no problem serving gay people or hiring gay people.  They do not encourage their employees or franchisees to engage in any discriminatory behavior (and seriously, when have you ever gone into a chickfila and not had the best, most polite service ever?) and have an anti-discrimination policy.  So, I feel like I can be ok with eating it every once in a while (maybe once every two months or so) because I am sure that I spend money at places that have WAY worse beliefs than that.  Again, this is just how I justify it, and I completely understand if there are readers out there who think that I’m a terrible person for eating there.

 

Leave a Reply

