Best Laid Plans.

So, I just finished up week 3 of my third round of IM:30…and basically my diet rules went straight down the shitter last week.  An old high school friend of mine and her husband spent the night with us on Tuesday night when they were on their way down to Alabama.  So that sort of threw off my week, and then I used the “well, I already ate THAT, so I might as well eat this…” excuse for the rest of the week.  So let’s break it down and see how I did.

-I did get my protein each day, so I guess that’s good.  But, I also went overboard on my carbs most days, which obviously is not good.  I had random Whole Foods breakfast pastries for breakfast two days which is basically just a waste of calories and carbs because there’s no real nutritional value to them at all.  But, we had purchased them for breakfast when my friends were here, and of course my husband bought way too much so we just “had” to eat them.

-I ate out way too many times.  We went to dinner at Feast with our friends on Tuesday night.  Theoretically, I can stay “on plan” at Feast if I order the right things…but I bet you can guess that I did not order the right things.  I shared some fried pickles with everyone, and I had a pulled pork sandwich, tater tots, salted caramel banana pudding, and a bourbon slushie.  WHY DID I ORDER ALL OF THAT?  I know better, but I just couldn’t stop myself.  Then we had a pre-planned date night Friday night while our daughter was at a sleepover at her gym.  We went to Rye for dinner because we knew their summer cocktail menu was all Mario Kart themed.  Yes, that is a strange reason to choose a restaurant, but we love Mario Kart in our house!!  Plus the food is good there too 🙂  Here was me drinking my “Bowser’s Castle”:

bowser

We had tempura veggies for an appetizer, and then I had TWO of their awesome Sally Lunn rolls.  I ordered the chicken for my entree, and it was actually relatively light.  Plus I did box up half for later (I had it for lunch today).  I had two cocktails with dinner.  But, if you know me, you know that I can’t go on a date night without getting dessert, so then we headed over to Sweet Surrender where I had the most decadent piece of “chocolate buckeye” cake which had buckeye filling and peanut butter ganache.  It was soooo good, and again, I brought half of it home.

Since we ate out on Friday and Tuesday, I should have been eating at home all weekend, but NOPE.  We had some family drama on Saturday morning (family drama in the name of an 8 year old girl with too much attitude) that forced me to leave the house to just get away from it, so I went and walked around the mall for 2 hours.  And when I say I “walked around the mall,” I don’t mean that I meandered around shopping…I literally went and mall walked for 2 hours!  Hey, it allowed me to clear my mind when the weather was iffy and I couldn’t do it outside!  But when I was done, I was starving, and somehow ended up BACK at Chick-fil-a, even though I just told y’all that I only eat it occasionally!

Then Sunday rolled around, and dammit if we didn’t eat out again.  A burrito from Chipotle sounded SO good and it honestly hit me as one of those cravings that I just had to satisfy or I wouldn’t be able to stop thinking about it.  Then we went out for ice cream at Comfy Cow.  So, if you’re keeping track at home, that was FOUR times of eating out in a week and TWO treats out.  Ugh…FAIL.

But strangely my weight wasn’t too bad.  Despite the BBQ and the carbs last week, I was sitting at 126.8 Friday morning, so I actually lost a fair amount of weight last week…which I then promptly gained back over the weekend.  I was at 129.6 after my workout this morning, which is still down from my 132 that I started at this round.

So now I just have to get myself back in check this week, and try to not beat myself up about it too badly.  I’m not perfect, and I don’t pretend to be, so I just had to share that despite my best laid plans to stay on track, sometimes it just doesn’t happen.

Happy Monday, y’all!  Good luck staying on track!

 

Leave a Reply

